<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Making A Difference... &#187; messenger</title>
	<atom:link href="http://dienkwik.com/blog/tag/messenger/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://dienkwik.com/blog</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 16 Dec 2008 04:27:15 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Your Messenger Buddy can steal your password !</title>
		<link>http://dienkwik.com/blog/2008/11/16/your-messenger-buddy-can-steal-your-password/</link>
		<comments>http://dienkwik.com/blog/2008/11/16/your-messenger-buddy-can-steal-your-password/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 16 Nov 2008 08:59:27 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>dienkwik</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Random Ramblings]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[messenger]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[msn]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[phish]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://dienkwik.com/blog/?p=132</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Always think twice or three or four times before giving out your password anytime you visit a site through a link given to you from any type of source, be it email, messenger, sms, or anything. I recently received an instant message from one of my messenger buddies asking me to check out some pictures&#8230; [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Always think twice or three or four times before giving out your password anytime you visit a site through a link given to you from any type of source, be it email, messenger, sms, or anything.</p>
<p>I recently received an instant message from one of my messenger buddies asking me to check out some pictures&#8230; (duh&#8230; this should&#8217;ve been clue #1).  I would normally be extra cautious when I get these kinds of messages through emails. This time, however, the message comes from an instant message from a messenger buddy and I didn&#8217;t know you could get phished this way.</p>
<p>I didn&#8217;t think twice and clicked on the link.  <span id="more-132"></span>It asks me for my username and password, and like an obedient servant I did, only to realize that I&#8217;ve been phished once I found random pictures on the site.</p>
<p>Below is the what little information I can gather by doing a whois on the phishing site:</p>
<p><span style="font-size: medium; font-family: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">WHOIS information for: <strong><span style="color: blue;"><a href="http://cefcell.com/">cefcell.com</a></span></strong>:<br />
</span></p>
<pre>[whois.enom.com]
=-=-=-=
Visit AboutUs.org for more information about cefcell.com
<a href="http://www.aboutus.org/cefcell.com">AboutUs: cefcell.com</a>

Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com
Contact: support@NameCheap.com
Visit: http://www.namecheap.com/

Domain name: cefcell.com

Registrant Contact:
   TST Management, Inc
   Jeff Fisher ()

   Fax:
   Edificio Magna Corp.  5th Floor, Office 511
   Ave. Manuel Maria Icaza y Calle 51
   Panama City, Panama 0000
   PA

Administrative Contact:
   TST Management, Inc
   Jeff Fisher (tstmanagement@gmail.com)
   +507.2021577
   Fax: +1.
   Edificio Magna Corp.  5th Floor, Office 511
   Ave. Manuel Maria Icaza y Calle 51
   Panama City, Panama 0000
   PA

Technical Contact:
   TST Management, Inc
   Jeff Fisher (tstmanagement@gmail.com)
   +507.2021577
   Fax: +1.
   Edificio Magna Corp.  5th Floor, Office 511
   Ave. Manuel Maria Icaza y Calle 51
   Panama City, Panama 0000
   PA</pre>
<p>In any case, please be extra careful with your passwords and always double check with the source, especially when the message seems generic and lacking specific information.</p>
<p>When in doubt, you can also check if a site is a phishing site by visiting <a href="https://www.phishtank.com/">https://www.phishtank.com/</a>.  If the site is found there, then it is a phishing site. If not, then it may or may not be a phishing site.  In my case it didn&#8217;t show up because apparently they created a new page for each potential victim by using the victim&#8217;s first name as a subdomain.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://dienkwik.com/blog/2008/11/16/your-messenger-buddy-can-steal-your-password/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

